book review

Review: Shadow & Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Leigh Bardugo has me in awe! From beautiful world building to a wonderfully cultivated magic system, this book has it all. 
🌟🌟🌟🌟 : I gave this book 4 stars instead of 5 because I didn’t get attached to this book. I didn’t feel the need to instantly reread it when I finished it. I like to reserve 5 stars for when a book is so good that I get emotionally invested. 

“The problem with wanting,” he whispered, his mouth trailing along my jaw until it hovered over my lips, “is that it makes us weak.” 

The Characters

I really like Alina. I feel like she got proper character growth. At the beginning she is reluctant to change and naive, but towards the end she really starts to take charge and become confident in herself. I loved reading about her. 

The Darkling is a fantastic character. In my opinion, even more interesting than Alina. I won’t say too much about him because it might be considered spoiler-y, but I fell in love with his character. I feel like Bardugo could create a whole prequel series about him and it would be marvelous. He is so mysterious and intriguing. You never really know what his next move is going to be. 

The Plot 

I loved the plot. I thought it was perfectly paced as well. There was never a time where I was slugging through. And, did I mention that <i> thing </i> that happens near the end? Yeah, those who’ve read it know what I’m talking about. It had me feeling SOME TYPE OF WAY!!

 
The Writing

This book does have some lingo that you have to get used to but it isn’t as bad as most high fantasy books (This book isn’t even that high of a fantasy). It is very easy to get used to, so don’t fret! Like I said before, the pacing is great. I wouldn’t worry about hitting a slow patch. I really loved the world building. I think Bardugo did a fantastic job. I really could picture her descriptions in my head! 

Overall, I would 10/10 definitely recommend this book and I will be continuing with the series soon!

Twitter | Goodreads | Bookstagram

1 thought on “Review: Shadow & Bone by Leigh Bardugo”

Leave a Reply

